Restore Mac to Factory Settings: Things to Do Before You Sell Your Macbook

Certainly MacBook Pro is one of the prized possessions of its owners. If you own one, then you too must be in love with your MacBook Pro. You might feel much attached to the device because of your experiences like online conferences, social networking, late-night office work, personal and professional documentation, movies, etc. But, after a few wonderful and fabulous years, perhaps you want to explore a new device. Before you get a new device, you can sell off your old device and get some money to compensate the price of the new device. But before you allow someone else to own your device, make sure that it is not carrying any of your personal information or data.MacBook Pro

Giving away or selling off your old MacBook with your information still stored on it may turn risky as it may leak your sensitive personal information to others. Moreover, the new buyer of your old device will not love to buy a device that is preloaded with your personal information. Although he is buying a second-hand device, but he will prefer the device to be as new as it can be. Only after that he will agree to pay a good price for the device. You can transform your old Mac to a new-like Mac, if you restore Mac to factory settings.

This blog explains how to restore Mac to factory settings and the benefits of factory restore:

What Happens on Restoring Mac to Factory Settings?MacBook Pro

On performing Mac factory reset, the device gets back its default settings that it had as a brand new device. All the changes you had done on the settings and configuration of the device, all the data you had stored on the device’s hard drive will get erased. Even the operating system will get erased, and a fresh copy of Mac OS X will get installed. After you finish the factory restore process, your Mac will have only a newly installed copy of Mac OS X and the default settings and configuration.

1.       Save Your Old Data

Before restoring Mac to factory settings, you need to understand that the process will delete your system’s data completely. Thus, it is essential to create a backup of your old data. To create the backup, you can clone your data to an external hard drive. For that, you can use any cloning software such as Carbon Copy Cloner.

2.       De-authorize User Accounts

Your key to any Apple gadget is your Apple ID. You need to link your Apple gadget to your ID in order to avail various services on that gadget. But there is a limitation for the number of gadgets you can authorize with a particular service through one Apple ID. For instance, if you have authorized the Photoshop to your MacBook Pro, and then you have sold that device without disabling the authorization of the device with your Apple ID, then one of your authorizations will go waste.Restore Mac to Factory Settings

Thus, before you sell your device, don’t forget to de-authorize the services, user accounts, iTunes store accounts associated with your Apple ID through that particular device.

3.       Disable iCloud

Before you sell your old Mac, it is essential to sign out of your iCloud account to make sure that remnants of your cloud data don’t get visible to the new owner. iCloud data can be Safari Bookmarks, documents, appointments, messages, reminders, notes, etc. To sign out of iCloud, go to ‘System Preferences’ and click ‘iCloud.’ Then, click the ‘Sign Out’ button on the lower-left side of the screen.

4.       Disable FileVault

If you are using FileVault, the inbuilt disk encryption tool of Mac, then you require disabling it before performing a factory restore.

How to Restore Mac to Factory Settings?

After performing the steps mentioned above, your device is ready for factory reset. To reset Mac to factory settings, perform the following steps:

  • Restart your Mac.
  • While it restarts, press the ‘Command’ and ‘R’ keys together.
  • Now, your device will start up in Recovery Mode.
  • Here, select ‘Disk Utility.’
  • Then click ‘Continue.’
  • In the next screen, choose your main startup disc. Usually, it is labeled as ‘Macintosh HD.’
  • Then click ‘Unmount.’
  • Next, click the ‘Erase’ tab located in the upper-middle section of the screen.
  • In the next screen, select the “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)” format, and then click ‘Erase’ on the lower-right side of the screen.
  • Then, quit from ‘Disk Utility.’
  • Now, click ‘Reinstall OS X.’
  • Then, click ‘Continue.’

Conclusion

With these steps, you have successfully reset Mac to factory settings. Now, your old Mac will get back to its original settings. The fresh copy of Mac OS X will get installed, and you will be prompted to enter your Apple ID. Don’t enter your Apple ID as you are soon going to disown the device. Your MacBook Pro is now ready for sale. When the new owner will turn on the device, he will require entering his Apple ID and the device will be ready for use. Now the device will not have any traces or remnants of your data in it. Thus, before you sell your Mac, always reset it to factory settings for your security and your buyer’s convenience.

Did you like this? Share it:
Restore Mac to Factory Settings: Things to Do Before You Sell Your Macbook
0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)
Posted in Online Tech Support
Tagged , , , .
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>